OTP is Requested Each Time a Browser is Restarted

Tags SSO OTP Browser

All employees are required to use Mutli-Factor Authentication at Hancock College to sign in but the SSO system does have a feature that will remember a user's authentication for some period of time. That length of time depends on the resources the user needs to access. Users of the Banner system can be remembered by checking the "Remember Me" check box under the OTP entry field when asked for an OTP and the browser will be remembered for one week. All other employees will have their browser remembered indefinitely and do not  need to do anything other than sign in with their OTP to be remembered. 

This feature does rely on the browser's ability to set and retain cookies. Some browsers have settings to clear cookies each time the browser window is shut down. If the browser does not retain the cookies set by Hancock College's SSO system, the user will be asked for the OTP each time they try to sign in. 

Set Chrome to Retain Cookies

  1. Click the 3 vertical dot icon in the top right corner
  2. Click "Settings"
  3. Click "Privacy and Settings"
  4. Click "Cookies and other site data"
  5. Make sure the "Clear cookies and site data when you quit Chrome" setting is off (dimmed out grey)

click 3 dots and settings

click privacy and security then cookies

uncheck clear cookies when you quit chrome

 

Set Firefox to Retain Cookies

  1. Click the icon with the 3 horizontal lines in the upper right corner
  2. Click "Options"
  3. Click "Privacy & Security"
  4. Uncheck "Delete cookies  and site  data when Firefox is closed"

click options

click privacy and settings and  uncheck delete cookies when firefox is closed

Details

Article ID: 124347
Created
Mon 1/11/21 9:21 PM
Modified
Mon 1/11/21 9:23 PM